Scholarship Impact Award

To recognize outstanding scholars on our campus, the Vice President for Research has designated the Scholarship Impact Award.  This annual award recognizes faculty members whose scholarship has had a major impact nationally and/or internationally but who has not yet been recognized with the university’s highest designations of University Distinguished Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Scholar.  The OVPR has expanded the SIA to provide two tracks for awards each year: 1) the “Recent Achievement” award recognizes more recent impact of a scholar’s career, focusing on the immediate past 10 years of a scholar’s career; and 2) the “Career Achievement” award recognizes the long-term or enduring impact of scholarship across the span of a scholar’s career.  Each award includes a plaque of recognition and $15,000 in funding to support the recipient’s research and/or scholarship program. Awardees will also be recognized through a new event, the Scholarship Impact Award Lecture Series, wherein they will be invited to present a lecture on their scholarship. 

Nominations are due by 5:00 p.m. MT on January 25, 2021 and must be submitted through the CSU InfoReady Review system. The system will not accept nominations after 5:00 p.m. and no late nominations will be accepted.

Scholarship Impact Award (SIA) Call for Nomination 2021

2020 Scholarship Impact Award Recipients:

Mo Salman:

Dr. Mo Salman’s impact is evidenced by his many far-reaching accomplishments including his contributions as Editor in Chief of the ‘Preventative Veterinary Medicine’ journal with an annual impact factor of 2.3-2.8, as recipient of the 2010 Penn Vet World Leadership Award in recognition of global veterinarian activities by an international commission, as coordinator for the US Department of State-Biosecurity Engagement Program in Afghanistan in 2015-2016, and as part of a team of six members appointed by the European Union Commission to address the global geographical risk classification of Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE) by creating dialogue between investigators, regulators, and industry stakeholders in 64 countries.

Working with three teams of the National Academy of Science, Dr. Salman contributed to the first national report on establishing a surveillance system for zoonoses, establishing the future academic direction of US animal science departments, and in the selection of a facility for the biosafety laboratory level 3 and 4 to handle emerging animal diseases.

Dr. Salman has received over 275 awards totaling more than $40 million spanning numerous government agencies including the NSF, USDA, USAID, FAO, and DOD, published over 300 refereed articles, edited and contributed to many textbooks on surveillance and survey methods, and has been advisor or co-advisor to well over 100 master’s and PhD students from all over the globe.

Darrell Whitley:

Dr. Darrell Whitley developed the first steady-state genetic computer algorithm, which is now the most common form of genetic algorithm that is particularly well suited to a wide range of problems and is widely used across both academia and industry, with over 200,000 papers written on steady-state genetic algorithms and 44,000 in the past ten years.

In a substantially different area, Dr. Whitley has developed methods for efficiently discovering locally optimal solutions for non-deterministic polynomial-time hard (NP-hard) problems, which are sets of devilishly computationally intensive problems in computing, with papers in this area winning the best paper awards in 2009, 2015, and 2018.

Dr. Whitley is nationally and internationally recognized for his work and has brought great distinction to CSU, having published over 160 refereed conference papers, 55 journal publications, and 22 book chapters/invited papers with over 23,000 citations and an H-index of placing him in the top 0.5% of computer scientists, garnered numerous awards and honors including one of the ten inaugural Fellows of the International Society for Genetic and Evolutionary Computation, awarded more than $3.5M in grants and contracts which is extraordinary in his discipline, and served on the editorial boards of nearly every prominent journal in computing.