Interdisciplinary Scholarship Awards

The Vice President for Research is soliciting nominations for the FY21 Interdisciplinary Scholarship Awards. Two awards will be given that recognize either a faculty member or research team whose interdisciplinary scholarship has had a major impact nationally and/or internationally, or who have demonstrated their potential to do so. One individual faculty member and one group of scholars will be recognized. Each awardee will receive a plaque of recognition and funding in the amounts below to support the recipient’s research and/or scholarship program. In addition, each awardee will be featured on the Research Wall sponsored by the Office of the VP for Research in the Lory Student Center. The award will be presented at the spring Celebrate! Colorado State Awards Ceremony.

Nominations are due by 5:00 p.m. MT on January 25, 2021 and must be submitted through the CSU InfoReady Review system. The system will not accept nominations after 5:00 p.m. and no late nominations will be accepted.

Interdisciplinary Scholarship Award IDSA Call for Nomination 2021

2020 IDSA Recipients:

Individual Award

Richard Bowen:
Dr. Richard Bowen is an exceedingly versatile investigator who is carrying out significantly impactful research on zoonotic pathogens, epidemiology surveillance models, and unique management strategies that are relevant to both animal and human health worldwide, with recent and active grant awards focused on agents of tularemia, anthrax and plague, diagnostics for zoonotic disease risk mitigation and rapid containment of outbreaks in Kenya, vaccines against melioidosis, rabies vaccine in ferrets, reptiles and amphibians as reservoir for arboviruses, immunity in dogs and cats, and surveillance of avian influenza by dogs.

He excels in originality of research in both reproductive biology and current and emerging infectious zoonotic diseases, creative experimental practices in understanding transmission and approach to controlling these diseases, leadership as Director of one of only three large animal biosafety level 3 (BSL3) agricultural facilities in the US, as an expert who communicates his findings with clarity to scientific and lay audiences, and in training and mentoring the next generation of DVMs and PhDs to manage the continuing threat of these diseases in the future.

Dr. Bowen’s storied and productive career is reflected in over 217 refereed publications, 9 book chapters, 24 student trainees, well over 3,000 citations, PI/PD of 165 extramural grant awards at CSU totaling nearly $31M from federal, foundation, and industrial sponsors and overall career grant funding exceeding $46M, a majority of which are collaborations with faculty and scientists locally, nationally, and globally.

Individual Award

Thomas Santangelo:
Dr. Thomas Santangelo was instrumental in developing some of the early genetic tools for modifying Archaeal Genomes and has established a highly interdisciplinary laboratory and network of interdisciplinary collaborations examining diverse research topics utilizing techniques from a broad array of disciplines in the areas of gene regulation, energy production, lipid metabolism, epigenetics, chromatin structure, DNA replication and repair, copper homeostasis, organic chemistry, structural biology, epigenetics, and biophysics, publishing 11 collaborative papers with a total of 16 different labs in the past five years.

The interdisciplinary nature of Dr. Santangelo’s program is evident from his diverse funding sources, with current grants from the National Institutes of Health, Department of Energy, NSF, and NASA covering topics ranging from the basic science of Archaea, human health, and alternative energy, as well as established collaborations with industry to develop biotechnology applications for some of the heat-stable enzymes that he studies.

Despite less than a decade as an Assistant/Associate Professor, Dr. Santangelo already has an H-Index of 24, the impact of which is perhaps best exemplified by his 2017 Science paper, published in collaboration with the laboratories of Karolin Luger, John Reeves, and Natalie Ahn, describing for the first time the structure of Archaeal chromatin.